How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Tipps & Tricks rund um Theli, kleine Helferlein, bekannte Probleme und deren Lösung.
Forumsregeln
In diesem Unterforum bitte keine neuen ungelösten Probleme oder Fehlermeldungen ohne Lösung posten. Das gehört in "Arbeiten mit Theli".

How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Beitragvon oleg » Dienstag 7. August 2012, 13:39

Hello,
my new computer based on CPU Intel® Core™ i7-3930K and motherboard Asus P9X79 WS.

How can I make my computer more fast and efficient for THELI?

RAID0 on 4 x SATA 3Gb/s port or
2 x SATA 6Gb/s ports.

What will be better in my case?

Regards,
Oleg :)
Ubuntu 14.04 64-bit (CPU Intel® Core™ i7-3930K, RAM 64GB, RAID0: 6x1TB).
oleg
 
Beiträge: 85
Registriert: Samstag 1. Oktober 2011, 18:00
Wohnort: Portugal

Re: How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Beitragvon Knickohr » Dienstag 7. August 2012, 16:01

Hi Oleg,

as much RAM as possible.

Thomas
Benutzeravatar
Knickohr
Moderator
 
Beiträge: 622
Registriert: Donnerstag 29. September 2011, 12:01
Wohnort: Blaustein

Re: How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Beitragvon oleg » Dienstag 7. August 2012, 19:23

Hi Thomas,

I want to increase the RAM from 16GB to 32/64GB in any case.
But one 2TB HDD not enough... It works without rest :(

Oleg
Ubuntu 14.04 64-bit (CPU Intel® Core™ i7-3930K, RAM 64GB, RAID0: 6x1TB).
oleg
 
Beiträge: 85
Registriert: Samstag 1. Oktober 2011, 18:00
Wohnort: Portugal

Re: How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Beitragvon Knickohr » Dienstag 7. August 2012, 19:36

Hi,

yes, one 2TB HDD is not enough. Not enough at all, if you do some Allsky's with 40.000x20.000 pixels :shock:

I use 5x 2TB HDDs and some small ones. One 2TB is for the raw-Data, the other 4 are in an raid-5 (3x2TB with parity). A 270GB is for temporary (Theli-Temp) and a 80GB is for the OS with the Theli application.

Thomas
Benutzeravatar
Knickohr
Moderator
 
Beiträge: 622
Registriert: Donnerstag 29. September 2011, 12:01
Wohnort: Blaustein

Re: How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Beitragvon oleg » Dienstag 7. August 2012, 20:10

Hmmm... :)

I planned 4x1TB HDD (Western Digital RE4 1TB 7200rpm 64MB WD1003FBYX 3.5" SATA II) for RAID0, one 3TB HDD for raw data and 120GB...256 GB SSD for OS Ubuntu.
Ubuntu 14.04 64-bit (CPU Intel® Core™ i7-3930K, RAM 64GB, RAID0: 6x1TB).
oleg
 
Beiträge: 85
Registriert: Samstag 1. Oktober 2011, 18:00
Wohnort: Portugal

Re: How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Beitragvon Knickohr » Dienstag 7. August 2012, 20:27

Hmmm ...

you don't need the SSD, if you have 64GB RAM :D

What's your target with this "big" machine ? Creating monster-panoramas or allskies, like I do ?

Thomas
Benutzeravatar
Knickohr
Moderator
 
Beiträge: 622
Registriert: Donnerstag 29. September 2011, 12:01
Wohnort: Blaustein

Re: How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Beitragvon oleg » Dienstag 7. August 2012, 20:55

Maybe you're right :)

Yes, I want to process a big astrophoto and create panoramas.
Ubuntu 14.04 64-bit (CPU Intel® Core™ i7-3930K, RAM 64GB, RAID0: 6x1TB).
oleg
 
Beiträge: 85
Registriert: Samstag 1. Oktober 2011, 18:00
Wohnort: Portugal

Re: How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Beitragvon Knickohr » Dienstag 7. August 2012, 21:13

Think big !

Use the max. RAM, that the motherboard supports and use big HDDs.

Thomas
Benutzeravatar
Knickohr
Moderator
 
Beiträge: 622
Registriert: Donnerstag 29. September 2011, 12:01
Wohnort: Blaustein

Re: How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Beitragvon oleg » Mittwoch 30. Januar 2013, 14:02

So, I have increased the RAM to 64 GB (freq. 1600MHz) and composed the RAID0 from 2HDDx2TB SATAIII.
But it is not enough, because the RAID0 writes too slowly...

Any ideas?
Ubuntu 14.04 64-bit (CPU Intel® Core™ i7-3930K, RAM 64GB, RAID0: 6x1TB).
oleg
 
Beiträge: 85
Registriert: Samstag 1. Oktober 2011, 18:00
Wohnort: Portugal

Re: How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Beitragvon Knickohr » Mittwoch 30. Januar 2013, 14:51

ooopsss ?!

I scamp 5000 images in 2 hours and swarp it in about 1 night to a 40k x 20k Allsky (one color).

Any error messages or only slow ?

Thomas
Benutzeravatar
Knickohr
Moderator
 
Beiträge: 622
Registriert: Donnerstag 29. September 2011, 12:01
Wohnort: Blaustein

Re: How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Beitragvon oleg » Mittwoch 30. Januar 2013, 15:06

only slow :(

And look at this picture:
Історія ЦП - CPU History
Пам’ять - RAM

Bild
Ubuntu 14.04 64-bit (CPU Intel® Core™ i7-3930K, RAM 64GB, RAID0: 6x1TB).
oleg
 
Beiträge: 85
Registriert: Samstag 1. Oktober 2011, 18:00
Wohnort: Portugal

Re: How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Beitragvon Knickohr » Mittwoch 30. Januar 2013, 15:37

Yes Oleg,

this is an CPU-wasting process. How long does it takes ? Ans how many pictures ?

Open an terminal :

# top

press SHIFT+M

and show me the table

Thomas
Benutzeravatar
Knickohr
Moderator
 
Beiträge: 622
Registriert: Donnerstag 29. September 2011, 12:01
Wohnort: Blaustein

Re: How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Beitragvon oleg » Mittwoch 30. Januar 2013, 15:54

Knickohr hat geschrieben:this is an CPU-wasting process. How long does it takes ? Ans how many pictures ?

How long...?
About 2-3 hours...
3880 fits (size: 2kpx x 4kpx)

Bild
Ubuntu 14.04 64-bit (CPU Intel® Core™ i7-3930K, RAM 64GB, RAID0: 6x1TB).
oleg
 
Beiträge: 85
Registriert: Samstag 1. Oktober 2011, 18:00
Wohnort: Portugal

Re: How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Beitragvon Knickohr » Mittwoch 30. Januar 2013, 16:10

Its all OK :)

Normal math of scamp.

You use an 1.6HGHz ? I use an 3.0Ghz

Normal processing ... please hold the line :mrgreen:

Thomas
Benutzeravatar
Knickohr
Moderator
 
Beiträge: 622
Registriert: Donnerstag 29. September 2011, 12:01
Wohnort: Blaustein

Re: How can I make my computer more fast and efficient ...?

Beitragvon mischa » Mittwoch 30. Januar 2013, 16:14

oleg hat geschrieben:How long...?
About 2-3 hours...
3880 fits (size: 2kpx x 4kpx)


Nothing unusual there... resampling is mostly a CPU-intensive job, and not (or only very little) I/O limited with your RAID solution.
You can see that by the simple fact that all your CPUs are close to maxed out. You just have to wait...

mischa
mischa
Moderator
 
Beiträge: 966
Registriert: Freitag 7. Oktober 2011, 14:07
Wohnort: Chile

Nächste

Zurück zu Tipps und Tricks, FAQ

Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: 0 Mitglieder und 1 Gast

cron